Unsound Festival 2014 Lineup Announced

The experimental music festival from Poland, Unsound, is continuing with its fifth New York edition April 2-6. The lineup has been recently announced and is to include: Oren Ambarchi (Australia), Wilhelm Bras (Poland), Suzanne Ciani (USA), copeland (Estonia), Demdike Stare (UK), DeepChord (USA), Michael England (UK), Evol (Spain), Huerco S. (USA), Ital & Halal (USA), Kapital (Poland), Piotr Kurek (Poland), Le Petit Garçon (Norway), Leisure Muffin (USA), Paal Nilssen-Love (Norway), Ben Manely (USA), Sean Meehan (USA), Miles (UK), Neotantrik (UK), Phill Niblock (USA), Piętnastka (Poland), Robert Piotrowicz (Poland), Porter Ricks (Germany), James Rushford (Australia), string players from Sinfonietta Cracovia (Poland), Hakon Stene (Norway), Stara Rzeka (Poland), Joe Talia (Australia), Vladislav Delay (Finland), Ben Vida (USA), Andy Votel (UK) and Hubert Zemler (Poland).

As you can see, this year’s lineup maintains a focus on Polish artists, as did the Unsound Festival in London last year.

What are we most excited about? The commissioned work “Damaged Particulates (undersong edition)” by Ben Vida. This piece will make use of bass frequencies via sound system, as well as SubPacs, a tactile audio system that quietly and directly transfers low frequencies to your body. So yeah, we’ll be at that.

To celebrate the focus on Polish artists and special projects at this year’s New York Unsound Festival, Unsound and Culture.PL are producing a CD titled Tunnels in partnership with the music magazine The WIRE. Focusing on artists in the program, the CD will be given out for fee to subscribers of the April issue of The WIRE. As of now the track list is unavailable. The Esoterrorist was unable to work out a compilation with the festival.



Recent News